Climate Change: Chinese Carbon Trading Pilots

China currently operates seven pilot carbon emissions trading schemes (ETS) in Beijing, Shanghai, Guangdong, Tianjin, Shenzhen, Hubei, and Chongqing. These pilot ETS are being implemented in preparation for the rollout of a national ETS.

On September 24, during his visit to the US, Chinese President Xi Jinping announced the implementation of a national ETS in 2017. In anticipation of the launch of China’s national ETS, we have put together an overview and progress report of the seven pilot ETS programs.

Click here to access the research memo.

Click here for a PDF version.


Share this Post